Stiletto-heeled, open-toed gladiator boots + dark denim leggings + blue plaid "peasant" top with ruching at hips and shoulders = not a good look on anyone. ANYONE.
Also, since you didn't look like the sort of person who would go all Manic Panic with their hair, I can only assume that you had intended those highlights to be blond, not an apricot/peach color.
As one final comment, you probably should work on your subtle double-take. As in, try to make it subtle, instead of the full-on head-snap-around with the big eyes. That's kind of hard to miss.
Also, since you didn't look like the sort of person who would go all Manic Panic with their hair, I can only assume that you had intended those highlights to be blond, not an apricot/peach color.
As one final comment, you probably should work on your subtle double-take. As in, try to make it subtle, instead of the full-on head-snap-around with the big eyes. That's kind of hard to miss.
Tags:
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
Are the double takes really that surprising though? I mean you do dress unusually different from the norm.
Btw did you get the clothes from Elana by any chance?
From:
no subject
Argh! I knew there was something I was supposed to grab from Elana's, but we were all distracted by sparkly vampire nonsense.
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
<3333
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
I love that! So accurate too.
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
Either that or on Romans of a bygone time.
Never EVER (EVAR!) as a high heel.
But the entire outfit sounds like something of a joke, kinda like dressing in the dark. . .
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
Open-toed boots don't make any sort of sense. It's aesthetic paradoxical fail. Big time. Ew.
From:
no subject
Denim leggings?!
From:
no subject
Which has to be one of the ugliest words EVER.
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
I saw a girl wearing an over sized(think mid-thigh)off-white turtleneck, a dark brown plaid skirt, navy "wet look" leggings, and tan loafers. Of course, I am the one getting the odd looks.
Speaking of fashion, do you know anywhere that sells victorian gothy winter coats?
From:
no subject
And wearing leggings like skinny denim is just ASKING for malfunction....*RRRRRRIIIIIPP*
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
Though there is one notable exception with one secretary that dresses like a movie star from the forties. Glamorous yet professional.
But nothing I've seen compares to what you've described. And that says a lot.
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
Mini-rant: Gladiator boots are a cop-out. When I saw them first coming into style two years ago, *I* did a double take. Now, see, my then-boyfriend was into Roman reenactment. I showed a picture to him and he said, "Hey, I know those!" Because he wears hand-made, made-for-man-feet "gladiator sandals" when in full roman armor. A new fashion trend? No, not even a little.
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
I met an extremely nice young man one day at the mall wearing the most beautiful coat...my conservative husband discouraged me from speaking to the VERY punk/metal goth...but I HAD too... OMG his coat (to the floor - he was over 6ft, chains & metal accents, with skinny black jeans & black dress shirt & drooling boots) was simply stunning and I know it will look fab on my son ...
I'm a mom, harmless & honest. He was very polite and helpful, not at all surprised when I came over.
It's not so much the extreme look - it's how put together it is... you can tell there is time & effort that goes into presentation of yourself each day.
You have inspired me to put more effort into my appearance.
Can't do the make up thing yet ... need to find some that wont give me a headache. But my hair is a bit neater, no jeans, dress tops instead of 't's.
People think that I am looking for a job!!
From:
no subject
I wear tights, long skirts, high collared shirts, a vest or blazer, and my hair is one "normal" color (black), and *I'm* the one who gets the strange looks for the way I dress?
I think some people need to do a double take in the mirror.
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
they're the new in thing o:
From:
no subject
Fashion victim, bless her.